top of page
  • Marcetta Linton

What Defines a Generation?

Another September 11, I can't help but think that this generation coming up was the COVID generation when I was in eighth grade on my way to my math class at Suwannee Middle School in Live Oak, Florida. It was an average September day, not wanting to go to school, but mom saying you're going to school. I still remember walking into my class at 10 am and hearing my eighth-grade teacher Mr. Ambrose say, " Oh my God, our world will never be the same." Little did I know he was correct; my world was changed.

I did not know what the Twin towers were, and I was sad about the situation; it wasn't relatable. However, when I saw the Pentagon, it all clicked. My half brother was in training at the Pentagon, and the fear struck in my heart. The unknown was scary, even though I didn't know my half brother, it was something that was going to hurt my dad. It was a gloomy day, and I believe even God cried. Bloodshed was painted in America like thick paint. You could hear innocent voices crying from the rubble—silent voices. For once, the world was crying with us. As a child, I saw everyone holding hands afterward, despite creed or color. America was strong and proud. Peace was once again across the land. The nation was working together. It was a sight to see land; it was a great one at that. It was my generation that seen September 11, 2001, and was changed.

Fast forward to 2020. In March, children attended a school like usual, looking forward to sporting events and prom, even graduation. Little did they know the defining moment for them would be a pandemic. People would die like September 11, except for an unseen perpetrator. The world stood still for the first time in three months. Facial covering and hand sanitizer were the new normal. The world locked down for three months, and hope looked bleek. Hugs were not allowed, and being close was forbidden. Movements rose out of the ashes; America had lost its spark. The virtual school was now a school, and events that were a staple were no more.

However, looking into the COVID generation, hope is not lost. Families are growing stronger. Parents are playing with their children. Children are aware of their health and others. While we are wearing masks, Kindness still reigns but instead of a hug, its actions. You see, America is not gone. It is just this generation that has embraced its changes and has made it their own. America can't stay down for long; it is not in their cards; we are better than that. This is just a defining moment, and we all know there is more to come.




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page